The Effect of Brief Naps on Alertness and Cognitive Performance

October 13, 2006 at 4:26 pm 16 comments

If you don’t get enough sleep at night, a quick 10 minute nap may help improve your alertness and cognitive performance. However, shortening it to a 30 or 90 second nap won’t cut it.

Sleeping Girl

Psychology researchers performed a study with 16 subjects, each restricted to 5 hours of sleep at night. The subjects were split into 4 groups — no nap, 30-s nap, 90-s nap, and 10-min nap. Subjects that took naps for 90 seconds or less were not found to perform any better on alertness and cognitive tasks. However, subjects that took a 10 minute nap significantly improve performance in multiple post-nap tests. This seems to suggest that only stage 2 sleep helps you recuperate from lack of nocturnal sleep.

Tietzel, A. J. & Lack, L. C. (2002). The recuperative value of brief and ultra-brief naps on alertness and cognitive performance. Journal of Sleep Research, 11, 213-218. [PDF]

Entry filed under: Nap, Psychology, Sleep.

People Take on the Traits They Describe in Others Academic Prostitution: Publishing what the referees want

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. julieluongo  |  October 14, 2006 at 10:06 am

    30 and 90 second naps? How would you take a 30 second nap? Set your stopwatch.

    Reply
  • 2. zsharek  |  October 14, 2006 at 12:11 pm

    I would be interested to see if the effectiveness of naps increases linearly (or not) as nap time increases.

    Or if taking 10 min naps every hour is more effective than an hour long nap.

    And I really don’t understand how you can take a proper 30 second nap.

    Reply
  • 3. inadvertentgardener  |  October 14, 2006 at 1:04 pm

    If you could take a true 90-second or 30-second nap, you probably have something else very, very wrong with you.

    Interesting research, though — I’ve long thought that naps were a huge benefit to the average human, and have long raged against the fact that we’re not allowed to put our heads down during the day and catch a few winks.

    Genie
    The Inadvertent Gardener

    Reply
  • 4. Eugene  |  October 15, 2006 at 1:17 am

    You may be interested in Steve Pavlina’s extended Polyphasic Sleep experiment, which seems to support a much stronger argument about REM sleep.

    Reply
  • 5. Audrey  |  October 17, 2006 at 12:29 pm

    so taking a 10 minute nap during an exam might actually help you figure out the answers to a few more questions!

    Reply
  • 6. Jonathan  |  November 22, 2006 at 9:35 am

    I find that if I am driving say, and very tired, that a very short rest–I am not sure 30s qualifies, but certainly 3-5m–can make me feel more comfortable, more alert, and much less “at the edge of falling asleep.” The effect is dramatic. In a pinch, I don’t even need need to fall asleep, just “rest my eyes.” That is not as good, but can also help.

    I believe I have read of other research that shows a diminishing utility–or at least a diminishing time-spent/effectiveness ratio–for naps longer than 10-15 minutes.

    Reply
  • 8. Jones sabo for example sabo declared a  |  April 12, 2013 at 8:23 am

    I’ll right away seize your rss as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please allow me recognise in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 9. mobile games  |  April 15, 2014 at 1:13 am

    I think this is among the most vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article.

    But wanna remark on some general things, The site style is perfect,
    the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

    Reply
  • 10. download chef  |  April 23, 2014 at 1:48 am

    I like the valuable information you provide on your articles.

    I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at again right here frequently.
    I’m somewhat certain I’ll learn lots of new stuff proper right here!

    Best of luck for the next!

    Reply
  • 11. download for no good reason movie  |  April 26, 2014 at 12:52 am

    Hello to every one, it’s in fact a nice for me to visit this website, it
    consists of valuable Information.

    Reply
  • 12. download brick mansions  |  April 30, 2014 at 8:51 am

    Thanks for any other excellent post. The place else may
    anyone get that type of info in such a perfect manner of writing?
    I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for
    such info.

    Reply
  • 13. Olga  |  November 25, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    Every weekend i used to pay a visit this web page, for the reason that i wish
    for enjoyment, since this this web site conations truly nice funny material too.

    Reply
  • 14. Zee Bangla  |  July 28, 2017 at 10:55 pm

    but certainly 3-5m–can make me feel more comfortable, more alert, and much less “at the edge of falling asleep.” The effect is dramatic. In a pinch, I don’t even need need to fall asleep, just “rest my eyes.” That is not as good, but can also help.

    Reply
    • 15. Zee Bangla  |  July 28, 2017 at 10:55 pm

      but certainly 3-5m–can make me feel more comfortable, more alert, and much less “at the edge of falling asleep.” The effect is dramatic. In a pinch, I don’t even need need to fall asleep, just “rest my eyes.” That is not as good, but can also help. http://buyinghousewall.com/

      Reply
  • 16. Zee Bangla  |  July 28, 2017 at 10:56 pm

    The place else may
    anyone get that type of info in such a perfect manner of writing?
    I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for
    such info.http://www.bci.edu.bd/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Read any good papers lately?

If you're interested in academic research, I'd love to have additional contributors. Shoot me an email.

Contact


